5 DrEAm DeSTinaTionS!!

5 DrEAm DeSTinaTionS!!


Travelling always turns on the wild little girl in me. Me + My camera + Travel to exotic places. What more do I need in life? 😉 I have always wanted to visit places that are least visited.

My trip with my family to Ladakh was primarily because of the picturesque sites that it had to offer. I should say the Pangong Lake, the Magnetic hill as well as the White sands of Hunder were the one of the best places I have ever been to. I wouldn’t mind repeating that entire tour all over again. But, there are other places that have to be visited too.

You could say I’m an adventure tourist, but I would say it is the scenery and the landscape, the comfort it offers to my tired eyes and the freshness it gives my mind are the reasons behind such choices.

The top 5 destinations I want to visit within my own homeland are:

1. The Roopkund Lake:

I am sure this would send chills down my spine. Yet, I have always wanted to visit this lake. It is more known as the ‘skeleton lake’ as it houses too many skeleton remains. It was apparently discovered by a british forest guard in 1942. The cause for so many skeletons is yet unknown. A few locals believe it must have been landslides, a few have a belief that The Goddess of the region punished outsiders who defiled her mountain’s sanctuary by raining hailstones on them and killing them. The most recent expedition (2004) identified that all of them were killed in the very same way and wounded in exactly the same manner. The area as such is also very inhospitable and terrain. A trek across the region would be very one of a kind and memorable. The very fact that it is a hostile region makes it very adventurous and interesting. 😀

d4_423_roopkund-1

2. Great Rann of Kutch:

The great Rann of Kutch is located in the Thar Desert. It is very famous for its Salt Marshes. There are two sides to this visit.

One, The Rann Utsav, which is an annual festive season where the tourists get a taste of the lifestyle of the locals. The festival, known for its bright colors and vibrance, offers various aspects of the Kutch culture – one gets to see the local folk dance, stay in live-in tents, take up camel safaris, shop for handicrafts, watch artisans work and have a complete time.

I would love to cover this space all by myself!
I would love to cover this space all by myself!

Two, The white salt desert is just tooo open. It is nothingness filled with white. Maybe that is why this place has always caught my awe. Its is a mysterious, wide, open and limitless region or wasteland between India and Pakistan.

3. The Gravity Defying Palace, Lucknow –Bara Imambara:

The place is almost always known for its mystery. The name by itself has always had me puzzled. It is said that one might get lost easily in this grand monument. Its architecture is mesmerizing and is a perfect blend mix of european and arab architecture where the central hall which is over 15mts tall does not have any beams or pillars supporting it. And the structure stands firm. It has strange entry and exit points or dead ends cropping up out of the blue.

I have visited the gravity-defying magnetic hill at ladakh. This is on my cards now! 😀

 

The Gravity Defying Palace
The Gravity Defying Palace

4. Canyoneering at Vihigaon Waterfalls, Maharashtra!

The Western Ghats are always known for the number of rivers and streams that pass through them. The Vihigaon Falls offer canyoneering against the water amidst deeply set thick forests! How more could we bond with nature? This would turn out to be an experience of a lifetime. Water repelling gives the thrill of suspension with the waters lashing against you.  I would definitely want to visit here before I have a white hair on my head!

img_2831_vihigaon-anurag-mallick1

5. Majuli – Assam:

This place doesn’t offer anything too adventurous. All the same it is a very calm and beautiful place and the largest riverine area in the world fuelled by the Brahmaputra. A must visit for those who follow vaishnavism  because today this place is the principal seat of Vaishnavite Faith. The Satras follow Ekasarana Dharma – Recite the name of the Lord and eliminate vedic and other esoteric rites of worship.  There are 22 satras that exist today. A walk down the villages of the areas show the simplicity with which people live- something we have forgotten in this predominantly technological and dynamic world of ours. Majuli also offers an exotic spread of biodiversity such as the pelicans and whistling teal. Maybe this would keep me close to nature and away from all the hustle and bustle. Peace Guaranteed.

HY13MAJULI_501784f

This could keep me and my Camera busy for days! *dreamy eyes*

I hope to visit these places soon and then have the next 5 destinations on my list for India has no dearth for Exotic Places!

9 thoughts on “5 DrEAm DeSTinaTionS!!

    1. Thanks a lot for the topic as well as the comment! 😀 I must say we have dug out many interesting places we’ve never heard of! 😀 too many places apart from these 5 on my list now! 😀

      Like

  1. Nothingness filled with white – that description and the photo make me want to rush off to there. Isn’t it amazing that these exotic and varied locations are all in India?! – I’m not surprised I want to add every one of them to my bucket list, as well. Great picks. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks a lot priya! 🙂 India has a lott to offer! Im not sure if we would even be able to cover everythng in this lifetime!

      Thanks for the comment again! Cheers!

      Like

Leave a Reply

